Home  /  News  /  Grants and Awards  /  Urology

Dipen J. Parekh, M.D., Receives National Recognition for COO Efforts

The Desai Sethi Urology Institute director says the honor “represents the collective dedication of thousands of professionals within UHealth.”

In January 2020, Dipen J. Parekh, M.D., was named chief operating officer (COO) for UHealth–University of Miami Health System. Four years later, he is being nationally recognized by Becker’s Hospital Review as one of 60 academic health system COOs to know.

The honor is one of the many recent accolades received by Dr. Parekh, who also serves as the founding director of the Desai Sethi Urology Institute.

“This list shows the commitment to academic medicine around the country is strong as we aim to merge research and patient care for optimal outcomes while educating the future work force,” said Dr. Parekh. “This recognition truly represents the collective dedication of thousands of professionals within UHealth and our collaborative leadership team, as we strive to elevate our institution to its fullest potential.”

Desai Sethi Urology Institute director Dipen Parekh, M.D., smiling and speaking from a podium.
Dipen J. Parekh, M.D., has been named one of 60 academic health system COOs to know by Becker’s Hospital Review.

This recognition also marks another national mention of UHealth’s leadership team in Becker’s. In 2023, a number of clinical leaders at UHealth were acknowledged for their invaluable contributions and expertise.

The health system was previously praised for its efforts on cybersecurity and revenue optimization led by David Reis, Ph.D., chief information officer.

National Strides in Leading Academic Medicine

UHealth’s position as an academic health system is backed by $175 million in funding from the National Institutes of Health, the most research funding in Florida. With such a strong research presence, the health system provides patients with the latest treatments and therapies in virtually every medical specialty, which may not be available elsewhere in the region.

Under Dr. Parekh’s leadership as COO, the research endeavors seamlessly integrate with clinical practices at the bedside. Dr. Parekh collaboratively orchestrates UHealth’s operations, directing all clinical leaders within the health system.

Together, they work on initiatives such as ambulatory strategy, inpatient clinical operations, optimization of the clinical care team model and the advancement of performance improvement efforts across the entire health system, ensuring a unified and effective approach to health care delivery.

Coming into the role in 2020, Dr. Parekh helped navigate hospital efforts amidst a national pandemic, resulting in effective strategies for optimal patient care. The evidence is clear. UHealth patients boast a 20% higher survival rate compared to those treated at non-teaching hospitals.

“Serving as COO of UHealth these past four years has been an incredible honor,” Dr. Parekh said. “Being able to lead the many transformative operations in the health system is beyond fulfilling as we bring in luminary physicians, researchers and building facilities that will propel academic medicine forward.”

Transforming Urological Care

Another significant aspect for Dr. Parekh in academic medicine is leading the Desai Sethi Urology Institute (DSUI). Dr. Parekh has been fundamental in transforming the Department of Urology into the well-known national entity it is today. His leadership has brought an investment into the specialty seen in the research, awards and conferences in which DSUI is consistently making its mark.

These notable achievements are marked by his many accolades. In addition to the recognition from Becker’s, Dr. Parekh joined the prestigious Clinical Society of Genitourinary Surgeons, was bestowed the Sushruta Award honoring Indian urologists and has also earned membership into the American Association of Genitourinary Surgeons.

Tags: Becker's Hospital Review, Desai Sethi Urology Institute, Dr. Dipen Parekh, Dr. Kymberlee Manni, Dr. Tanira Ferreira, Elizabeth Smith